Saltwater, sails and saving nature along the Wherry Lines

View descriptionShare
Published Feb 10, 2021, 2:00 AM

Beginning our journey in Lowestoft in this episode we head North to explore the chain of lines known as the Wherry Lines. Find out about the wild animals returning to nature and “The Switzerland of Norfolk”: a paradise garden that once attracted 60,000 visitors a year to a mystery location we’ll reveal!

We first stop off at the village of Somerleyton to hear about an innovative new project taking place in the grounds of Somerleyton Hall. Beginning with a rewilding scheme across the once manicured lawns, Lord Somerleyton explains his vision of returning swathes of East Anglia to a natural state through the WildEast project.

Find out about the history of the Broads landscape as well as how life, trade and tourism here has evolved through the centuries when we talk to Nicola from the Museum of the Broads.

We take a special journey with magnificent marshland views on the quiet stretch of track that connects the two Wherry Lines Branches. Overseen by the beautiful Berney Arms Windmill, train travellers can disembark to explore the landscape here. Beneath this serene exterior work is going to juggle humans and nature though! Mark is a site manager for the RSPB reserve at Berney Marshes and Breydon Water. He explains the careful balance of preserving delicate wildlife habitats, welcoming walkers and a managing a thriving rural economy.

In Great Yarmouth,tour guide Becci gives us a surprising insight into the rich naval history underpinning this seaside gem. A local herself, she tells us about Yarmouth’s fondness for a festival and shares a few of her favourite facts and hints at the dark side of the town’s history, from witch trials to signing the death warrant for Charles I.

Our last stopoff on the way into Norwich is at Brundall Gardens where station adopter Greg and Chloe from the local history group join us to share stories of local life. Chloe explains the archive project helping locals retrace their roots, and tells the tale of the visionaries that once built an enormous paradise garden here. Greg keeps the station special to this day in honour of this area’s legacy.

Lives on the Lines is created on behalf of the Community Rail Partnerships with Greater Anglia.

Presented and produced by Katharine Kerr for Fresh Air Production.

Explore the Wherry Lines at https://wherrylines.com

@WherryLines

And explore travel with Greater Anglia at https://www.greateranglia.co.uk

@greateranglia

Somerleyton Hall: https://www.somerleyton.co.uk

@SomerleytonHall

Wild East https://www.wildeast.co.uk

@WildEastUK

Museum of the Broads in Stalham https://www.museumofthebroads.org.uk

@MuseumBroads

RSPB Berney Marshes and Breyon Water: https://www.rspb.org.uk/reserves-and-events/reserves-a-z/berney-marshes-breydon-water/

@Natures_Voice

Berney Arms Windmill https://www.english-heritage.org.uk/visit/places/berney-arms-windmill/

@EnglishHeritage

Great Yarmouth Tourism https://www.great-yarmouth.co.uk/visitor-info/tourist-information-centre.aspx

@GreaterYarmouth

 

Brundall Gardens Local History Group www.brundallvillagehistory.org.uk

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • WhatsApp
  • Email
  • Download

In 1 playlist(s)

  1. Lives On The Lines

    7 clip(s)

Lives On The Lines

Take an audible journey by train and meet fascinating people living and working across our Great Ang 
Social links
Follow podcast
Recent clips
Browse 7 clip(s)