Laugh and then think: What it's like to win the Ig Nobel Prize

View descriptionShare
Published Jul 15, 2022, 9:47 AM

Almost 1000 people have won Nobel Prizes. But only 300 have won IG Nobel Prizes! That’s the award honoring achievements that first make people laugh, and then make them think.

In this episode, meet the creator of the prize, and three people who’ve won it!

Mark your calendar: The next Ig Nobel Prize ceremony will happen on September 15, 2022!


  • Marc Abrahams: Founder of the Ig Nobel Prize Ceremony in 1991, celebrating achievements that “make you laugh and then think”. He is also the co-founder and editor of the magazine, Annals of Improbable Research
  • Kees Moeliker: Dutch biologist, ornithologist, and director of the Natural History Museum Rotterdam. He won an Ig Nobel Prize in Biology for his study of homosexual necrophilia in male mallards in 2003. He is also the founder of Dead Duck Day, which is held annually on June 5th
  • Pavlo Blavatskyy: Professor of economics at Montpellier Business School. He won an Ig Nobel Prize for Economics in 2021 for his study correlating the perceived corruption of politicians and their body weight
  • Patricia Yang: A two-time Ig Nobel Prize winner in Physics. The first was in 2015 for testing the biological principle that nearly all mammals empty their bladders in about 21 seconds (plus or minus 13 seconds). She won again in 2019 for studying how wombats make cubed poo
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • WhatsApp
  • Email
  • Download

In 1 playlist(s)

  1. Audacious with Chion Wolf

    123 clip(s)

Audacious with Chion Wolf

Audacious with Chion Wolf will highlight the uncommon experiences of everyday people – asking the ha 
Social links
Follow podcast
Recent clips
Browse 122 clip(s)